Wednesday, May 25, 2011

A New Canadian Mystery Award: the Bony Blithe

The Bloody Words Mystery Conference, Canada's largest and longest-running conference bringing together mystery authors and readers, is pleased to announce a NEW Canadian literary award: The Bloody Words Light Mystery Award (aka the Bony Blithe) "for books that make us smile."

This award, which includes a $1000 cash prize as well as a stunning trophy, will be awarded annually at the Bloody Words Mystery Conference. The inaugural award will be presented next year at Bloody Words XII (June 1-3, 2012) in Toronto.


The award is open to any Canadian citizen or permanent resident and is for full-length (at least 60,000 words) mysteries (print or e-book) published in the previous year. The 2012 award is for books published between January 1 and December 31, 2011. Books may be submitted by the publisher or the author. No YA or noir, please.

You do not have to be registered for Bloody Words to enter this contest.

What is a "light mystery"?

"Light mysteries" cover anything from laugh-out-loud books to gentle humour to good old-fashioned stories with little violence or gore.

Submission procedure:

Send four (4) hard copies of the book(s) by December 15, 2011, to:

Caro Soles
12 Roundwood Court
Toronto ON M1W 1Z2

You may start submitting books now. For the deadline of December 15, we go by the postmark or equivalent. If the book has not come back from the printer by December 15, 2011, you may send us copies of the ARC.

Note: If you are sending the book(s) from outside Canada, make sure the customs declaration has NCV (no commercial value) or $0 for the dollar value.

If your book is an e-book, contact us about submitting it electronically. Please be aware, however, that we may require hard copy for e-books.

Shortlist and award announcements:

The shortlist for the 2012 award will be announced on March 28, 2012. The award will be presented at the Bloody Words XII banquet at the Downtown Toronto Hilton on Saturday, June 2, 2012.

For more information:

Write to

or visit

Good luck...
Cheryl Freedman

Wednesday, May 11, 2011

Jayne Barnard Shortlisted for the Unhanged Arthur

Jayne Barnard Shortlisted for the Unhanged Arthur - by Anne Jayne

Crime Writers of Canada celebrated mystery writers on Thursday, April 28, with events in cities across Canada. Local groups held very different events, but they all ended the same way, with the announcement of the shortlists for the 2011 CWC Awards.

In Calgary, CWC members Jayne Barnard, Susan Calder, Linda Kupecek and Garry Ryan took to the podium at the Calgary Public Library to read their work to an appreciative audience that included a number of Ink members.

For Inksters, the news was excellent: Jayne Barnard, a long-time member and current Secretary-Treasurer of Mystery Writers Ink, was chosen by Crime Writers of Canada for the shortlist for the Arthur Ellis Award for Best Unpublished First Crime Novel (popularly known as the Unhanged Arthur). The judges selected only three manuscripts this year from more than sixty that were submitted to the contest.

Jayne's novel, When the Bow Breaks, is set in France and the Lower Mainland, and features RCMP officer Lacey McCrae. While off duty, Lacey intervenes in a child abduction. She rescues the victim but soon realizes the little boy is still in danger. Her determination to uncover the source of the threat causes conflicts at home and at work. How much will she sacrifice to save a child she only met once?

The other two nominees are John Jeneroux for Better Off Dead and Kevin Thornton for Uncoiled.

The Unhanged Arthur was a brainchild of world-renowned mystery author Louise Penney, who launched her career as a novelist by winning the Debut Dagger Award in the U.K. She thought that Canadian writers deserved a similar contest, and the Crime Writers of Canada agreed.

The Unhanged Arthur contest is open to Canadian citizens and permanent residents who have never had a novel of any kind published commercially. Participants first submit the 5,000 words and a synopsis. The judges then invite up to ten authors to submit the full manuscript. Of those, up to five will be selected for the shortlist.

McArthur & Co. presents the Award and a cash prize to the winner at the annual Crime Writers of Canada banquet, which takes place in Victoria on June 2, 2011. McArthur & Co. has the right of first refusal, and may offer a book contract to the author who wins the Unhanged Arthur. The author may choose to accept that offer or to pursue other publication options.

Winners of the Award include Gloria Ferris for The Corpse Flower; Douglas Moles for Louder; D.J. McIntosh for The Witch of Babylon (Penguin Canada); and Phyllis Smallman for Margarita Nights (McArthur & Co.).

Congratulations to Jayne Barnard on the selection of her manuscript for the shortlist, which is a testament to her dedication to the craft of writing. Good luck at the Crime Writers of Canada banquet in Victoria: we'll be rooting for Jayne to receive the Award!