Wednesday, May 5, 2010

The 2010 Derringer Awards

The Short Mystery Fiction Society is pleased to announce the winners of the 2010 Derringer Awards for the categories of:

Flash Fiction (1,000 words or less) :

"And Here's to You, Mrs.Edwardson," by Hamilton Waymire.
This appeared in Big Pulp .

Short Fiction (1,001 to 4,000 words):

"Twas the Night" by Anita Page.
This appeared in the Gift of Murder anthology.

Long Fiction (4,001 to 8,000 words):

"Famous Last Words" by Doug Allyn.
This appeared in Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine.

Novelette (8,001+ words):

"Julius Katz" by Dave Zeltserman.
This appeared in Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine.

Golden Derringer (for lifetime contributions to the field short mystery fiction):

Lawrence Block

Stories eligible for the Derringers must have appeared in a recognized paper or online publication during the previous year. Panels of judges for each category complile a short list from among all nominees, from which member voting determines the winners.